Date: 2nd June 2012 at 10:25am
Written by:

The Football League has agreed a four year deal with Capital One to sponsor the League Cup.

From next season, the competition will be called the Capital One Cup with the draw for Round One of the competition being announced on Thursday, 14th June and the games taking place in the week commencing 13th August.

All Championship, League 1 and League 2 clubs will take part with the exception of Bolton Wanderers and Blackburn Rovers, who were the two highest placed clubs in last season’s league tables.

The Final of the Capital One Cup will take place at Wembley Stadium on Sunday, February 24, 2013.

In the past this competition has been called:

The Milk Cup – 1982-86
The Littlewoods Challenge Cup – 1986-90
The Rumbelows Cup – 1990-92
The Coca Cola Cup – 1992-98
The Worthington Cup – 1998-2003
The Carling Cup – 2003-2012

Liverpool have the most wins in the competition winning it eight times – but, never forget Millers fans, who were one of the two first finalist in this competition!

Join The Vital Debate