Date: 16th December 2009 at 4:27pm
Written by:

If England are successful in their bid for the 2018 World Cup the the following cities have been named as host cities

Birmingham – Villa Park
Bristol – Ashton Vale
Leeds – Elland Road
Liverpool – Anfield/The New Anfield
London – three stadia will be picked from Wembley Stadium, Arsenal’s Emirates Stadium and either the Olympic Stadium or Tottenham’s yet-to-be-built new ground.
Manchester – Old Trafford and the City of Manchester Stadium
Milton Keynes – Stadium mk
Newcastle/Gateshead – St James’ Park
Nottingham – the new Nottingham Forest Stadium
Plymouth – Home Park
Sheffield – Hillsborough
Sunderland – Stadium of Light

Applications from Hull, Derby and Leicester were not successful.

Football League and selection panel chairman Lord Mawhinney told the BBC, ‘We have spent a long time talking about travelling, accommodation and security and the decision we have made constitutes a composite of all the criteria that goes towards what makes a good host city. The choices we made represented our best judgement of the strongest possible combination to give England’s bid the strongest attraction compared to other countries’ bids for 2010.

‘We have some world famous stadia but we felt there should be a sprinkling of tomorrow as well. We wanted to say to Fifa: ‘We are looking at legacy and legacy is about tomorrow”

The final decision, should England be successful with the bid, on which stadiums will be used for the world cup made by 2013.