Date: 15th June 2018 at 10:52am
Written by:

Rotherham United have been drawn at home with the visitors being last seasons League One champions Wigan Athletic in this seasons first round of the Carabao Cup which will take place the week beginning 13th August.

The Millers and Wigan have met twice before in this competition when it went under the name of the Coca Cola Cup.

The first leg was at Springfield Park in August 1993 which was a one-nil win for Rotherham with Des Hazel scoring the goal. The second leg at Millmoor saw the Millers get a four-two win with goals coming from Ian Banks, Nicky Law, Imre Varadi and an own goal. Rotherham went on to take on Portsmouth in the second round.

The last time the pair met at the New York Stadium was in November 2017. Will Grigg opened the scoring on fourteen minutes with the hosts equalising two minutes later with a curling shot from David Ball. Alex Bruce, with his back to goal, put the Latics back in front on twenty-eight minutes and Michael Jacobs made it three-one on the hour mark.

Last season the Millers got through to the second round of this competition losing at the John Smith’s Stadium, two-one to Huddersfield Town.


Rotherham v Wigan
Tranmere v Walsall
Crewe v Fleetwood
Scunthorpe v Doncaster
Macclesfield v Bradford
Grimsby v Rochdale
Sheffield United v Hull City
Nottingham Forest v Bury
Middlesbrough v Notts County
Sunderland v Sheffield Wednesday
Leeds v Bolton
Carlisle v Blackburn
Mansfield v Accrington
Port Vale v Lincoln
Preston v Morecambe
Oldham v Derby
Shrewsbury v Burton
Blackpool v Barnsley


Millwall v Gillingham
Portsmouth v AFC Wimbledon
Cheltenham v Colchester
Yeovil v Aston Villa
Southend v Brentford
Reading v Birmingham
Wycombe v Northampton
Swindon v Forest Green
Exeter v Ipswich
MK Dons v Charlton
West Brom v Luton
Bristol Rovers v Crawley
Bristol City v Plymouth
Cambridge v Newport
QPR v Peterborough
Oxford v Coventry
Norwich v Stevenage

Click for the forum

Your Comment