Date: 12th August 2021 at 1:21pm
Written by:

Rotherham United’s first away game of the season sees them travel to the DW Stadium where they take on Wigan Athletic.

September 2018 was the last time the Millers were at Wigan which saw substitute James Vaughan get the only goal of the game on seventy-three minutes in a hard fought game.

April 2018 saw fourth placed Rotherham travel to take on top of League One Wigan and with both sides wasting chances the game ended goalless.

When the teams met at the DW Stadium in April 2017 the Millers were already relegated from the Championship and Wigan expecting to be. Rotherham went in front with a Danny Ward goal but within five minutes Gabriel Obertan levelled for the hosts. Just after the hour mark a long range shot by Anthony Forde put the Millers back in front but four minutes later Wigan equalised again this time courtesy of Alex Gilbey. Seven minutes into time added on a free-kick on the edge of the area from substitute Nick Powell gave Wigan a late win.

The last time Rotherham won on Wigan soil was in December 2014. Tom Lawrence put the Millers in front five minutes before half-time with Ben Watson equalising on sixty-four minutes. But just a minute later Alex Revell was there to give the visitors back the lead and a two-one win.
October 2004 saw the two sides meet at the DW Stadium although it was called the JBB Stadium then when it was a two-nil win for the hosts. Jason Roberts opened the scoring on eleven minutes with a goal from Alan Mahon in the second half. Referee Kevin Wright booked three Millers players that day – Paul Hurst, Shaun Barker and Robbie Stockdale.

Rotherham won at the JBB was on Boxing Day 2003. The game looked like it was heading for a goalless draw until Will Hoskins, twenty minutes off the bench, scored on the eighty-first minute and two minutes later sent the travelling Millers wild when he scored a second. A last minute goal from Nathan Ellington for the Latics didn’t spoil the Millers post-Christmas as they took home all three points.

In the Old Division Three the pair met at Springfield Park in the first month of the 1989/90 season with the Millers winning three-nil. John Buckley, Clive Mendonca and Bobby Williamson were the scorers that day.

The first time the Millers visited Wigan in the league was on New Years Eve 1983. Wigan won the game two-one with Nigel Johnson scoring the Millers goal.

League Games – Millers v Latics
09.02.2019 Rotherham 1-1 Wigan
01.09.2018 Wigan 1-0 Rotherham
League One
14.04.2018 Wigan 0-0 Rotherham
25.11.2017 Rotherham 1-3 Wigan
08.04.2017 Wigan 3-2 Rotherham
26.12.2016 Rotherham 3-2 Wigan
14.03.2015 Rotherham 1-2 Wigan
20.12.2014 Wigan 1-2 Rotherham
15.01.2005 Rotherham 0-2 Wigan
02.10.2004 Wigan 2-0 Rotherham
League One
26.12.2003 Wigan 1-2 Rotherham
20.08.2003 Rotherham 0-3 Wigan
League Two
21.04.2001 Wigan 0-2 Rotherham
04.11.2000 Rotherham 1-1 Wigan
13.02.1993 Wigan 1-1 Rotherham
05.09.1992 Rotherham 2-3 Wigan
Division Three (Old)
26.03.1991 Wigan 2-0 Rotherham
15.09.1990 Rotherham 5-1 Wigan
13.01.1990 Rotherham 1-2 Wigan
26.08.1989 Wigan 0-3 Rotherham
19.03.1988 Rotherham 1-1 Wigan
31.10.1987 Wigan 3-0 Rotherham
28.02.1987 Wigan 2-1 Rotherham
30.09.1986 Rotherham 0-2 Wigan
12.04.1986 Rotherham 0-0 Wigan
09.11.1985 Wigan 2-0 Rotherham
11.05.1985 Wigan 2-1 Rotherham
22.12.1984 Rotherham 3-3 Wigan
07.05.1984 Rotherham 4-1 Wigan
31.12.1983 Wigan 2-1 Rotherham

Click for the forum

Your Comment