Date: 17th June 2019 at 9:43am
Written by:

Rotherham United will be joining in the EFL Trophy again this season when they could play one of the ‘big’ clubs’ Under 21 sides.

The competition, which is open to League One and Two sides, started having U21 sides from clubs outside those divisions in 2016 and now has the format of sixteen regional groups of four teams where the top two from each group enter a knock-out stage, the first two rounds of which remain regionalised.

This season U21 teams from Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton and Hove Albion, Chelsea, Everton, Fulham, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, West Ham United and Wolverhampton Wanderers have been invited to join.

The Millers won this competition when it went under the name of ‘the Auto Windscreens Shield’ in 1996.

Last time Rotherham were in the competition was in the 2017/18 season when they played an U21 Manchester City side at the New York Stadium, drawing one-all but losing four-two on penalties. They also had games with Chesterfield, which they lost, and away Bradford where they won but didn’t go further than the first round.

The draw for this season’s competition takes place in July with games commencing in the first week of September – the final being in April.

Click for the forum

Your Comment